IMG 3650 resizeUMA Bangor Students Honored at May 8th Awards Banquet

On Thursday, May 8th at 5:00pm, UMA Bangor held its annual Senior Awards Banquet.

Several students were honored for academic achievement and community service. Many of the award winners will be attending UMA’s May 10th Commencement at the Augusta Civic Center.   The award winners are listed below.

See photos of the event (on Facebook) »


UMA 2014 UMA Bangor Award Recipients:

Blanche Garrity Perseverance Scholarship
Valerie Thompson of Bangor & Christopher Dinwiddie of Hampden

Bennett D. Katz Scholarship
Brad O'Brien of Bangor & Anthony Pranses of Portage

Bruce Collier Memorial Scholarship
Paul Leonard of Kenduskeag

Laurie Weston Ladd Scholarship
John Hinte of Bangor

Major General Edmund Hill Scholarship
Carley Cloukey of Bangor

Outstanding Cornerstone Student Award
Elisabeth Stevens of Lincoln & Laurel York of Bangor

Sigma Phi Alpha Honor Society
William Harrison Hall of Greene & Brittany Rita Hubert of Augusta

James H. Woodworth Memorial Award
Maria LeVasseur of Brewer

Kenneth Craig Ward Scholarship
Shaun Bourque of Bangor

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges
Kevin Scott Holland of Carmel & Kerrianne Howland of Veazie

Student of the Year Awards by Program

Business Administration (Baccalaureate), Laurel York of Bangor
Business Administration (Associate), Elisabeth Stevens of Lincoln

Dental Assisting (Certificate), Brittney Glencross of Pittsfield
Dental Assisting (Associate), Melissa Brooks of Bangor

Dental Hygiene (Associate), Casey Kates of Lisbon
Dental Hygiene (Baccalaureate), Kathy L. Grant of Stetson

Justice Studies (Baccalaureate), Thomas Placella of Glenburn
Justice Studies (Associate), Karla Glick of Bucksport

Liberal Studies (Baccalaureate), Patricia Violette of Orrington
Liberal Studies (Associate), Kennedy Gilmore of Orrington

Mental Health & Human Services (Baccalaureate), Meredith Bean of Hampden
Mental Health & Human Services (Baccalaureate), Kerrianne Howland of Veazie

Veterinary Technology (Associate), Tiffany Mayhew of Falmouth

UMA Bangor Students of the Year

Baccalaureate Degree Student of the Year, Laurel York of Bangor
Associate Degree Student of the Year, Karla Glick of Bucksport