UMA Colleges
College of Arts and Sciences
English
Current Checksheet for B.A.
Current Checksheet for Minor
Program Coordinator
Lisa Botshon
English Faculty
Jeff Sychterz
Chelsea Ray
Jill Rubinson
Harry Batty
Carol Kontos
Christopher Bates
Eleanor Leo
Gillian Jordan
Kay Retzlaff
Ellen Taylor
Lisa Botshon
Robert Kellerman
Barbara Pincus
UMA Undergraduate English Conference
Frequently Asked Questions
Fall Bacchanal
English Courses
Terry Plunkett Maine Poetry Festival
All Checksheets
Biology
Visit the Campus Green
Biology Faculty
Program Coordinator
All Checksheets
2 + 2 program for graduates of the A.S. in Medical Laboratory Technology
Biology
Annual Lecture in Biology
Interdisciplinary Studies
All Checksheets
INT Student Conference
Current Checksheet
Degrees Offered
French Minor
Holocaust and Human Rights Studies
American Studies
Art
Program Coordinator
All Checksheets
Current Checksheet
Art Faculty
Jazz and Contemporary Music
The UMA Music Faculty
Matt Fogg
Pam Jenkins
Scott Hughes
Frank Mauceri
Gary Clancy
Steve Grover
Tim Johnson
Bob Thompson
Greg Loughman
Trond Saeverud
Nancy Schneider
Anita-Ann Jerosch
David Wells
Music Course Concentrations
Audio Recording Concentration
Preparing For Your Music Career
Program Coordinator
Join the UMA Music Family
All Checksheets
Photography
Current Checksheet for Minor
Social Science
Professional Associations
National Writing Project
Maine Department of Education
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Society for the Study of Social Problems
National Council for the Social Studies
International Network for Social Network Analysis
National Social Science Association
ASCD
National Communications Association
National Science Foundation
National Council of Teachers of English
National Science Teachers Association
American Anthropological Association
American Psychological Association
American Sociological Association
Maine State Psychological Association
All Checksheets
Current Checksheet for B.A.
Social Science Concentrations and Certificates
Social Science B.A.
Gerontology Concentration
Psychology Concentration
Social Media Certificate
Education Pathways
Social Science Faculty
Teacher Preparation Programs
All Checksheets
UMA/UMPI Pathway to Elementary Education Certification Advising Guide
Certificate of Study in Secondary Education
BA Interdisciplinary Studies Checksheet
Self-Designed Elementary Ed Minor Checksheet
Self-Designed Special Ed Minor Checksheet
Minor in Secondary Education
UMA/UMM Pathway to Special Education Certification Advising Guide
Teaching Resources
Maine Department of Education Teaching and Learning Standards
Professional Organizations and Resources
Certification Resources
Early Childhood Education (B-5)
Elementary Education
Elementary Education Portfolio
Elementary Education Student Teaching
Secondary Education
UMA Student Teaching
UMA Minor in Secondary Education
UMA Secondary Education Teacher Certification Pathway for Post Graduates
UMA Secondary Education Portfolio
Early Elementary Education (K-3)
Early Elementary Education (K-3) Portfolio
Early Elementary Education (K-3) Student Teaching
Special Education
Education Courses
Teacher Preparation Faculty
Liberal Studies
Current Checksheet for B.A.
All Checksheets
Current Checksheet for A.A.
UMA Liberal Studies Newsletter
College of Professional Studies
Business Administration
The TAO of the DOW
Counting on Dividends
Earnings per Share: Who really cares?
The Dow and You
All Checksheets
Current Checksheet for A.S.
Current Checksheet for B.S. with major in Management
Current Checksheet for B.S. with major in Accounting
Internships Overview
For Students: How Does an Internship Work?
For Students: What Will an Internship Do for Me?
For Students: Business Internship Opportunities
For Employers: What will Hosting an Internship Do for Me?
For Employers: How do I Create an Internship Position?
Program Coordinator
Business Administration
Medical Laboratory Technology
Current Checksheet
MLT Wait List Request Form
All Checksheets
Veterinary Technology
Job Listings
Veterinary Technology
Announcements
Current Checksheet
Veterinary Technician Organization
Vet Tech Course Sequence
Continuing Education
Useful Links
Degrees Offered
Mental Health and Human Services
All Checksheets
Current Checksheet for B.S.
Current Checksheet for A.S.
Computer Information Systems
Certificate in Health Informatics
Current Checksheet
Post Baccalaureate
Current Checksheet
Minor in Computer Networking
CIS Faculty
Associate of Science
Current Checksheet
Certificate in Information Systems Security
Minor in CIS
Computer Information Systems
Minor in Information Systems Security
Bachelor of Science
Current Checksheet
Nursing
Nursing at UMA
Nursing Program Vision and Mission Statement
Nursing Program Philosophy
AS in Nursing
Nursing Student Policy Handbook
Current Checksheet for A.S.
RN to BSN
Current Checksheet for B.S.
Sample Curricula
Progression Summary
Admission Requirements
Application Process
UMA RN-BSN Facebook Page
NurseManifest Blog
Nurse Educator Praxis
BSN Handbook
Resources for Holistic Nurses
Navigating E-Connections
Credit for Certification
Jean Watson Event
Jean Watson Registration
Applied Science
Program Coordinator
Applied Science in Aviation
Dental Hygiene
Dental Hygiene Faculty
Expanded Function Dental Assisting Program
Program Immunization Requirements
Accreditation
EFDA Fact Sheet
Upcoming CEU Courses
Dental Hygiene Services
Program Coordinator
Dental Assisting Tuition and Fees
Bloodborne Pathogen & CPR Requirements
All Checksheets
Current Checksheet for B.S.
Current Checksheet for A.S.
Associate of Science in Dental Hygiene
Certificate in Dental Assisting
Dental Hygiene Web Links
Architecture
Curriculum
List of Required Courses
ARC 408
ARC 421
ARC 431
ARC 441
ARC 489
ARC 509
ARC 510
ARC 101
ARC 102
ARC 221
ARC 123
ARC 231
ARC 203
ARC 241
ARC 251
ARC 204
ARC 261
ARC 305
ARC 306
ARC 406
ARC 407
ARC 322
ARC 332
ARC 350
ARC 361
Collaboration
Design Elements
Space
Scale
Intention
Light
Students
NAAB Information
Faculty
News + Events
B.Arch Info Day
Join Our Mailing List
Schedule a Visit
Apply
Design Documents
Admission Criteria
Current Checksheet
Program Coordinator
Welcome
Community
Mill Island, Lewiston
Richmond Public Library
East Bayside, Portland
Sacred Space: Temple Beth El
Bread of Life, Meeting Space
Hallowell Waterfront
Addition to Jewett Hall
Town of Clinton, ME - Veterans Memorial
Gateway to Franklin Arterial
Architecture at UMA
UMA History
The Gannett Building
All Checksheets
Our Mission
Program Philosophy
Core Values
Information and Library Services
ILS Course Descriptions
ILS Associate of Science Program
ILS Certificate Program
Getting Started: The Admissions Process
ILS Bachelor of Science Degree Program
ILS Faculty
Vincent M. Livoti
Jodi Williams, Coordinator
ILS FAQs
Information & Library Services Degree Program Overview
ILS Degree Program
ILS Department Policies
ILS News and Notes
Aviation
Checksheet
Aviation Program Cost
Aviation
Information Session
Justice Studies
Information Systems Security Certificate
Fraud Examination Certificate
Community Policing Certificate
Justice Studies Faculty
Justice Studies Associate's Degree
Justice Studies Post-Baccalaureate
Minor in Justice Studies
Minor in Advocacy
Minor in Fraud Examination
Paralegal Certificate
Information Systems Security Minor
Forensic Certificate
Justice Studies Bachelor's Degree
Public Administration
Human Services - Public Administration
Minor in Public Administration
Postbaccalaureate in Public Administration
Advanced Standing into the University of Southern Maine
Bachelor of Science in Public Administration
Computer Technology - Public Administration
Criminal Justice - Public Administration
Fire Science - Public Administration
Health Care - Public Administration
Associate in Public Administration
Public Administration Faculty
John Nickerson
Full-Time Faculty
All Checksheets
Current Checksheets
Checksheet Archive
Checksheets for 2012/2013
Checksheets for 2011/2012
Checksheets for 2010/2011
Checksheets for 2009
Checksheets for 2004
Checksheets for 2008
Checksheets for 2007
Checksheets for 2006
Checksheets for 2005
Checksheets for 2003
Checksheets for 2002
Checksheets for 2001
Checksheets for 2000
Checksheets Prior to 2000
Libraries
Library Services
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Ask A Librarian
Faculty Information
Circulation
Course Reserve Materials
Katz Library (Augusta)
Directions
Library Floor Plan
Collections & Policies
Plunkett Maine Writers Collection
Computer and Internet Use Policy
Collection Development (Katz Library)
Collection Development Policy
The Mande Kora: A West African System of Thought
The Mande Kora Music
Nottage Library (Bangor)
Nottage Library (Bangor) Information
Contact Us
About the UMA Libraries
Off-Campus Library Services
Libraries
Library Hours
Faculty
Milligan, Peter
Moseley, William
Naas, Margaret
Naber, Donald
Nelson, Richard
Norton, Ronald
Oxley, Tara
Pare, Richard
Patterson, Margaret
Pincus, Barbara
Postman, Leah
Precourt, Peter
Rainey, Robert
Ray, Chelsea
Retzlaff, Kay
Roper, Robert
Rowell, Barbara
Rubinson, Jill
Samuelian, Dave
Sanborn, Freda
Schlenker, Jon
Schneider, Nancy
Shelleman, Joyce
Sherman, Robert
Stark, Eric
Stoddard, Brooks
Surpless, Kathleen
Sychterz, Jeffrey
Szakas, Joseph
Taylor, Ellen
Thaller, Amanda
Tomberlin, George
Turcotte-Seabury, Catherine
Waugh, Charles
Whitsel, Larry
Wigderson, Seth
Mears, Richard
Williams, Jodi
UMA Adjunct Faculty
Jakab, Mary Jo
Adams, Terry
Adrienne, Karen
Baker, Susan
Jerosch, Anita-Ann
Ballback, Jacqueline
Clark, Carey
Jordan, Gillian
Bates, Christopher
Clark, Patricia
McMahan, Irene
Batty, Harry
Katz, Robert
Bean, Frank
Kellerman, Robert
Bearor, Dawn
Belanger-Warnke, Deborah
Colby, Terry
Bennett, Sheila
King, Lynne
Bernheim, Robert
Cole, Jo-Ann
Klose, Robert
Bisulca, Norma
Cook, James
Blanke, Ann
Knowlton, Stephanie
Blanchette, Diane
Boone, Diane
Curtis, Ann
Botshon, Lisa
Kokoska, Diana
Davitt, Mary Louis
Brown, Fred
Kontos, Carol
Buckley, Laura
Dean, Cynthia
Butler, Daylin
DeWaters, Jere
LaBossiere, James
Elias, Rochid
LaFear, JoAnne
Elliott, Kenneth
Lage, Chris
Lake-Corral, Lorien
Ellis, Frank
Evans, Victoria
Lane, Kim
Fahy, Gregory
Leo, Eleanor
Lee, Joleen
Lemay, Diane
Felch, Henry
Leonard, Grace
Lombard, Kristen
French, Lester
Furgeson, Danielle
Gray, Diane
Giordano, Tom
Linhardt, Magdalena
Goodridge, Mark
Grunder, Charles
Haggard, Sandra
McAleer, Brenda
McGuire, J. Powers
Hayes-Grillo, Anne
Hazard, Wendy
Hentges, Sarah
Hinkley, Amy
Holden, Constance
Livoti, Vincent M.
Lumb, Richard
Hunt, Tamara
Academic Calendar
Advising Center
Testing and Assessment
Academic Placement Testing
Sample Questions - Reading Comprehension
Sample Questions - Sentence Skills
Understanding Your UMA Placement Test Report
Mathematics Placement Testing
Advance Placement Credit
Challenge Exams
CLEP Exams
DANTES Exams
Portfolio Assessment
UMA Math Placement Study Plan
How to Register With MyMathTest
How To Use MyMathTest
Career Advising
The Career Development Process
The Cover Letter
Writing Your Resume
Internship Information
Job Listings
Obtaining References
Obtaining References for Graduate/Professional Schools
Other Resources
Resumes, Cover Letters & Interviewing
Career Resource Center
Career Workshops & Events
Choosing a Major
Graduate School Information
MLT Wait List Request Form
Advisor Notes
Academic Advising
Academic Advising FAQs
Core and General Education Requirements
Contact Advising
Programs and Degrees
Bookstore
Student Support
Student Development Division
Disability Services
Disability Services General Information
Accommodation Procedures
Adaptive Technology Resources and Information
University of Maine System Guidelines for Documentation of a Learning Disability
Disability-Related Online Resources
Counseling Services
Learning Support Services
Learning Support Services Contacts
Workshops Via Videostream
Effective Learning Consultation
On-Line Learning and Study Skills Resources
Tutoring
Augusta Tutoring Schedule
Bangor Campus Tutoring Schedule
White Board Math Tutoring
Writing Tutor
Cornerstone
Navigating E-Connections
Email Activation Tutorial
Registration Tutorial
Student Degree Progress Tutorial
Tutorial on Navigating MaineStreet 9.0
Tutorial on Distance Registration
Academic Theme
Academic Theme Archive
Academic Theme Links & Resources
Course Guide & Catalog
Advising & Registration
Registration Help
Honors Program
Honors Program What's Happening
Associate Degree Honors Program
Bachelor's Degree Honors Program
Honors Checksheets
Distance & Online Programs
Online College Courses
Fall 2012 Online Courses
Justice Studies
Mathematics
Nursing
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology (Online Fall 2012)
Sciences
Social Sciences
Sociology
Veterinary Technology
American Studies
Art
Biology
Business Administration
College Experience
Communications
Computer Information Systems
Dental Assisting
Dental Hygiene
Dramatic Arts
Economics
English
History
Human Services
Humanities
Information & Library Services
Jazz and Contemporary Music
Summer 2012 Online Courses
Online Degree Programs
Glossary and Information
Map of UMA Centers & Sites Statewide

Professional Studies Faculty: 

Adams

Terry

Assistant Professor of Mental Health & Human Services

terry.adams@maine.edu

621-3558

106 Jewett Hall

Ballback

Jacqueline

Instructor of Nursing

jacqueline.ballback@maine.edu

621-3497

RSTC 228

Bean

Frank

Associate Professor of Business  and Finance

fgbean@maine.edu

621-3357

RSTC 258

Bearor

Dawn

Professor of Dental Hygiene

bearor@maine.edu

262-7874

123 College Center

Belanger-Warnke

Deborah

Instructor of Nursing

deborah.belangerwarnke@maine.edu

621-3469

Bisulca

Norma

Professor of Mathematics

bisulca@maine.edu

621-3451

107 Jewett Hall

Blanchette

Diane

Coordinator and Associate Professor of Dental Hygiene

dianeb@maine.edu

262-7876

119 College Center

Blanke

Ann

Coordinator and Lecturer of Mathematics; Bangor Math Lab Coordinator

ablanke@maine.edu

262-7890

318 Belfast Hall

Boone

Diane

Associate Professor of Business Administration

diane.boone@maine.edu

262-7863

225 Belfast Hall

Brown

Fred

Coordinator of Math Tutoring Lab Instructor of Mathematics

fred.brown@maine.edu

621-3035
621-3082

128 Jewett Hall

Buckley

Laura

Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Veterinary Technology

laura.buckley@maine.edu

262-7850

109 Camden Hall

Butler

Daylin

Coordinator and Professor of Business and Public Administration

daylin@maine.edu

621-3147

RSTC 139

Carrick

Dianne

Internship Coordinator for MHH

dianne.carrick@maine.edu  

621-3177

RSTC 244

Clark

Carey

Assistant Professor of Nursing

carey.clark@maine.edu

621-3466

110 Jewett Hall

Clark

Patricia

Instructor of Mental Health & Human Services

pclark@maine.edu

621-3426

104 Jewett Hall

Colby

Terry

Coordinator and Professor of Nursing

tcolby@maine.edu

621-3237

RSTC 233

Cole

Jo-Ann

Instructor of Nursing

jcole@maine.edu

621-3238

Civic Center

Curtis

Ann

Associate Professor of Dental Health

curtisa@maine.edu

262-7870

121 College Center

Davitt

Mary Louis

Coordinator and Professor of Justice Studies

mldavitt@maine.edu

262-7974

213 Lewiston Hall

Elias

Rocky

Professor of Mathematics

relias@maine.edu

621-3268

238 RSTC

Ellis

Frank

Associate Professor of Psychology and Human Services

fellis@maine.edu

621-3317

167 Jewett Hall

Evans

Victoria

Associate Professor of Nursing

vevans@maine.edu

621-3159

Civic Center 264

Felch

Henry

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems

henry.felch@maine.edu

621-3371

RSTC 257

French

Lester

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Furgeson

Danielle

Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Dental Assisting

danielle.furgeson@maine.edu

262-7885

115 College Center

Giordano

Thomas

Assistant Professor of Business

giordano@maine.edu

621-3557

RSTC 256

Goodridge

Mark

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems

mark.goodridge@maine.edu

621-3181

RSTC 257

Gray

Diane

Professor of Nursing

diane.gray@maine.edu

621-3227

RSTC 237

Holden

Connie

Professor of Mathematics

cholden@maine.edu

262-7894

227 Belfast Hall

Hunt

Tamara

Assistant Professor of Mental Health & Human Services

tamara.hunt@maine.edu

219 Lewiston Hall

Jakab

Mary Jo

Professor of Human Services

mjjakab@maine.edu

621-3516

103 Jewett Hall

King

Lynne

Professor of Nursing

lking@maine.edu

621-3236

RSTC 235

Knowlton

Stephanie

Lecturer of Nursing

stephanie.knowlton@maine.edu

621-3091

Civic Center 262

Kokoska

Diana

Coordinator and Instructor of Computer Information Systems

dkokoska@maine.edu

262-7864

210 Lewiston Hall

LaBossiere

James

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

jamesl@maine.edu

262-7893

219 Belfast Hall

LaFear

JoAnne

Associate Professor of Nursing

lafear@maine.edu

621-3277

Civic Center 265

Lane

Kim

Assistant Professor of Human Services

kim.lane@maine.edu

262-7985

224 Lewiston Hall

Lee

Joleen

Associate Professor of Dental Health

joleen@maine.edu

262-7877

113 College Center

Lemay

Diane

Associate Professor of Mental Health & Human Services

dlemay@maine.edu 

621-3474

106 Jewett Hall

Leonard

Grace

Coordinator and Professor of Mental Health and Psychology

gleonard@maine.edu

621-3257

RSTC 230

Linhardt

Magdalena

Associate Professor of Psychology & Mental Health

linhardt@maine.edu

621-3353

105 Jewett Hall

Livoti

Vincent

Assistant Professor of ILS

vincent.livoti@maine.edu

621-3246

202 Katz Library

Lombard

Kristen

Assistant Professor of Nursing

kristen.lombard@maine.edu

621-3542

262 Civic center

Lumb

Richard

Assistant Professor of Justice Studies

richard.lumb@maine.edu

McAleer

Brenda

Associate Provost, Dean of Professional Studies, Professor of Business Administration

mcaleer@maine.edu

621-3483

140C Jewett Hall

McGuire

Powers

Professor of Business and Governmental Sciences

powersm@maine.edu

621-3282

117 Jewett Hall

McMahan

Irene

Associate Professor of Nursing

mcmahani@maine.edu

621-3076

Civic Center 261

Mears

Richard

Associate Professor of Justice Studies

rmears@maine.edu

621-3281

107 Jewett Hall

Naas

Margaret

Coordinator and Instructor of Medical Laboratory Technology

margaret.naas@maine.edu

626-1407

MaineGeneral

Nickerson

John

Professor of Political Science and Public Administration

john.nickerson@maine.edu

621-3287

168B Jewett Hall

Norton

Ron

Professor of Economics

ronald.norton@maine.edu

621-3280

RSTC 232

Oxley

Tara

Lecturer of Nursing

tara.oxley@maine.edu

621-3541

Civic Center 262

Patterson

Margaret

Professor of Mathematics

margaret@maine.edu

621-3207

254 RSTC

Postman

Leah

Assistant Professor of Veterinary Technology

leah.postman@maine.edu

262-7852

117 Camden Hall

Roper

Rob

Professor of Business and Economics

ibn400@maine.edu

262-7862

226 Belfast Hall

Rowell

Barbara

Assistant Professor of Accounting

Samuelian

David

Bangor Coordinator of MHH Professor of Human Services

davidjs@maine.edu

262-7980

222 Lewiston Hall

Sanborn

Freda

Instructor of Mathematics

fsanborn@maine.edu

262-7892

223 Belfast Hall

Shelleman

Joyce

Director of Business Internships

joyce.shelleman@maine.edu

Surpless

Kay

Associate Professor of Political Science

surpless@maine.edu

262-7964

224 Belfast Hall

Thaller

Amanda

Lecturer of Nursing Resources Laboratory

Tomberlin

Tom

Professor of Justice Studies

georget@maine.edu

621-3204

164 Jewett Hall

Williams

Jodi

Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Library Information Services

jodi.williams@maine.edu

621-3341

Katz Library