English

Hone your writing skills while deepening your appreciation of literature. Through discussion and close personal attention, you’ll develop analytical, critical reasoning, and communication skills highly sought after by employers in many fields. These skills will also provide you with an excellent foundation for graduate study.

Degree Offered: B.A.
Offered on the Augusta and Bangor campuses


Bachelor Degrees

Associate Degrees

Minors

Minor in Accounting - PDF
Minor in Addiction Studies -PDF

Minor in Business Administration - PDF
Minor in Computer Information Systems - PDF

Minor in Early Childhood Services - PDF
Minor in Financial Services - PDF
Minor in Geriatric Human Services - PDF

Minor in Grief, Loss and Trauma - PDF
Minor in Human Services - PDF
Minor in Information and Library Services - PDF
Minor in Justice Studies - PDF
Minor in Mathematics - PDF
Minor in Political Science - PDF
Minor in Public Administration - PDF
Minor in Small Business Management - PDF

Certificates

Certificate - Accounting - PDF
Certificate - Child & Youth Care Practitioner - PDF

Certificate - Community Policing - PDF
Certificate - Customer Service & Telecommunications Level I and II - PDF
Certificate - Dental Assisting - PDF
Certificate - Forensic Science - Investigation Focus - PDF

Certificate - Forensic Science - Scientific Focus - PDF
Certificate - Government Management - PDF
Certificate - Health Informatics - PDF

Certificate - Human Resource Management - PDF
Certificate - Human Services - PDF
Certificate - Information and Library Services - PDF
Certificate - Mental Health Rehabilitation Technician/Community - PDF
Certificate - Paralegal Studies - PDF

Certificate - Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Technician - PDF

Professional Studies Faculty: 

Adams

Terry

Assistant Professor of Mental Health & Human Services

terry.adams@maine.edu

621-3558

106 Jewett Hall

Ballback

Jacqueline

Instructor of Nursing

jacqueline.ballback@maine.edu

621-3497

RSTC 228

Bean

Frank

Associate Professor of Business  and Finance

fgbean@maine.edu

621-3357

RSTC 258

Bearor

Dawn

Professor of Dental Hygiene

bearor@maine.edu

262-7874

123 College Center

Belanger-Warnke

Deborah

Instructor of Nursing

deborah.belangerwarnke@maine.edu

621-3469

Bisulca

Norma

Professor of Mathematics

bisulca@maine.edu

621-3451

107 Jewett Hall

Blanchette

Diane

Coordinator and Associate Professor of Dental Hygiene

dianeb@maine.edu

262-7876

119 College Center

Blanke

Ann

Coordinator and Lecturer of Mathematics; Bangor Math Lab Coordinator

ablanke@maine.edu

262-7890

318 Belfast Hall

Boone

Diane

Associate Professor of Business Administration

diane.boone@maine.edu

262-7863

225 Belfast Hall

Brown

Fred

Coordinator of Math Tutoring Lab Instructor of Mathematics

fred.brown@maine.edu

621-3035
621-3082

128 Jewett Hall

Buckley

Laura

Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Veterinary Technology

laura.buckley@maine.edu

262-7850

109 Camden Hall

Butler

Daylin

Coordinator and Professor of Business and Public Administration

daylin@maine.edu

621-3147

RSTC 139

Carrick

Dianne

Internship Coordinator for MHH

dianne.carrick@maine.edu  

621-3177

RSTC 244

Clark

Carey

Assistant Professor of Nursing

carey.clark@maine.edu

621-3466

110 Jewett Hall

Clark

Patricia

Instructor of Mental Health & Human Services

pclark@maine.edu

621-3426

104 Jewett Hall

Colby

Terry

Coordinator and Professor of Nursing

tcolby@maine.edu

621-3237

RSTC 233

Cole

Jo-Ann

Instructor of Nursing

jcole@maine.edu

621-3238

Civic Center

Curtis

Ann

Associate Professor of Dental Health

curtisa@maine.edu

262-7870

121 College Center

Davitt

Mary Louis

Coordinator and Professor of Justice Studies

mldavitt@maine.edu

262-7974

213 Lewiston Hall

Elias

Rocky

Professor of Mathematics

relias@maine.edu

621-3268

238 RSTC

Ellis

Frank

Associate Professor of Psychology and Human Services

fellis@maine.edu

621-3317

167 Jewett Hall

Evans

Victoria

Associate Professor of Nursing

vevans@maine.edu

621-3159

Civic Center 264

Felch

Henry

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems

henry.felch@maine.edu

621-3371

RSTC 257

French

Lester

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Furgeson

Danielle

Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Dental Assisting

danielle.furgeson@maine.edu

262-7885

115 College Center

Giordano

Thomas

Assistant Professor of Business

giordano@maine.edu

621-3557

RSTC 256

Goodridge

Mark

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems

mark.goodridge@maine.edu

621-3181

RSTC 257

Gray

Diane

Professor of Nursing

diane.gray@maine.edu

621-3227

RSTC 237

Holden

Connie

Professor of Mathematics

cholden@maine.edu

262-7894

227 Belfast Hall

Hunt

Tamara

Assistant Professor of Mental Health & Human Services

tamara.hunt@maine.edu

219 Lewiston Hall

Jakab

Mary Jo

Professor of Human Services

mjjakab@maine.edu

621-3516

103 Jewett Hall

King

Lynne

Professor of Nursing

lking@maine.edu

621-3236

RSTC 235

Knowlton

Stephanie

Lecturer of Nursing

stephanie.knowlton@maine.edu

621-3091

Civic Center 262

Kokoska

Diana

Coordinator and Instructor of Computer Information Systems

dkokoska@maine.edu

262-7864

210 Lewiston Hall

LaBossiere

James

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

jamesl@maine.edu

262-7893

219 Belfast Hall

LaFear

JoAnne

Associate Professor of Nursing

lafear@maine.edu

621-3277

Civic Center 265

Lane

Kim

Assistant Professor of Human Services

kim.lane@maine.edu

262-7985

224 Lewiston Hall

Lee

Joleen

Associate Professor of Dental Health

joleen@maine.edu

262-7877

113 College Center

Lemay

Diane

Associate Professor of Mental Health & Human Services

dlemay@maine.edu 

621-3474

106 Jewett Hall

Leonard

Grace

Coordinator and Professor of Mental Health and Psychology

gleonard@maine.edu

621-3257

RSTC 230

Linhardt

Magdalena

Associate Professor of Psychology & Mental Health

linhardt@maine.edu

621-3353

105 Jewett Hall

Livoti

Vincent

Assistant Professor of ILS

vincent.livoti@maine.edu

621-3246

202 Katz Library

Lombard

Kristen

Assistant Professor of Nursing

kristen.lombard@maine.edu

621-3542

262 Civic center

Lumb

Richard

Assistant Professor of Justice Studies

richard.lumb@maine.edu

McAleer

Brenda

Associate Provost, Dean of Professional Studies, Professor of Business Administration

mcaleer@maine.edu

621-3483

140C Jewett Hall

McGuire

Powers

Professor of Business and Governmental Sciences

powersm@maine.edu

621-3282

117 Jewett Hall

McMahan

Irene

Associate Professor of Nursing

mcmahani@maine.edu

621-3076

Civic Center 261

Mears

Richard

Associate Professor of Justice Studies

rmears@maine.edu

621-3281

107 Jewett Hall

Naas

Margaret

Coordinator and Instructor of Medical Laboratory Technology

margaret.naas@maine.edu

626-1407

MaineGeneral

Nickerson

John

Professor of Political Science and Public Administration

john.nickerson@maine.edu

621-3287

168B Jewett Hall

Norton

Ron

Professor of Economics

ronald.norton@maine.edu

621-3280

RSTC 232

Oxley

Tara

Lecturer of Nursing

tara.oxley@maine.edu

621-3541

Civic Center 262

Patterson

Margaret

Professor of Mathematics

margaret@maine.edu

621-3207

254 RSTC

Postman

Leah

Assistant Professor of Veterinary Technology

leah.postman@maine.edu

262-7852

117 Camden Hall

Roper

Rob

Professor of Business and Economics

ibn400@maine.edu

262-7862

226 Belfast Hall

Rowell

Barbara

Assistant Professor of Accounting

Samuelian

David

Bangor Coordinator of MHH Professor of Human Services

davidjs@maine.edu

262-7980

222 Lewiston Hall

Sanborn

Freda

Instructor of Mathematics

fsanborn@maine.edu

262-7892

223 Belfast Hall

Shelleman

Joyce

Director of Business Internships

joyce.shelleman@maine.edu

Surpless

Kay

Associate Professor of Political Science

surpless@maine.edu

262-7964

224 Belfast Hall

Thaller

Amanda

Lecturer of Nursing Resources Laboratory

Tomberlin

Tom

Professor of Justice Studies

georget@maine.edu

621-3204

164 Jewett Hall

Williams

Jodi

Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Library Information Services

jodi.williams@maine.edu

621-3341

Katz Library

We have over 100 highly qualified full-time and adjunct professors, teaching in twelve professional programs and one department (Mathematics). Our professional programs are well-known, and our graduates leave UMA as highly marketable and skilled professionals.

Whether your interests lie in the field of healthcare, government, or industry, we may have a program that suits you well! Explore our pages and please call us if you should have questions.

Degree Programs »

 

Associate Provost & Dean of Professional Studies:

BrendaMcAleer-Dean

Brenda McAleer, Ph.D.
(207) 621-3483 (Augusta)

 

 

Academic Associate:

Terry Lawson
(207) 621-3288 (Augusta)

College Offices:

Augusta Campus
140 Jewett Hall
Phone: 1-877-UMA-1234 ext. 3288 (in Maine)
Fax: (207) 621-3293

Bangor Campus
123 Belfast Hall
Phone: (207) 262-7850
Fax: (207) 262-7851

Administrative Assistants:

Laurie Breton
(207) 621-3275 (Augusta)

Bonnie Linder
N
ursing Programs
(207) 621-3297 (Augusta)

Rebecca Fielder
(207) 262-7950 (Bangor)

Arlene Slade
(207) 262-7850 (Bangor)

Amy Dow
Dental Health Programs
(207) 262-7870 (Bangor)