History, Mission, and Founding Principles of UMA


In 1965 the 102nd Maine Legislature established the University of Maine at Augusta as a community-based institution offering associate degrees under the auspices of the University of Maine at Orono. In 1971, soon after moving to its present location in Augusta, UMA became an autonomous institution, the seventh campus of the University of Maine System.

Today, as the third largest campus in the University of Maine System, the University of Maine at Augusta offers undergraduate degrees and professional certificates to prepare graduates for the 21st century. Located in Augusta, the state’s capital city, and in Bangor, the University leverages its relationships with state government and communities in central Maine to increase opportunities for students in all programs to be civically engaged, both on campus and in the worldwide “community.”  As the institution with the most experience in distance education, UMA continues to be a leader using contemporary technology to provide innovative and quality learning environments for faculty and students.

UMA’s Mission: The University of Maine at Augusta, a regional state university, provides baccalaureate and select associate degrees to meet the educational, economic and cultural needs of Central Maine. Based on a common liberal arts core for all degree programs, UMA delivers professional programs to non-traditional, traditional and place-bound students.