UMA is saddened and horrified by the violent attacks in Atlanta this week. We stand by our students, faculty and staff of Asian heritage. You are an integral and valued part of our community.

Racism and anti-Asian bias have no place at UMA. If you have experienced such bias or harassment, please report this to our Office of Equal Opportunity.

These events reinforce the need to continue to take strong action in support of diversity, equity and inclusion at UMA.

President Rebecca Wyke and the DEI Council


The University of Maine at Augusta (UMA) is committed to free speech and fosters an environment in which all members of our community have access to a vibrant, enriching education befitting a democracy. A hallmark of our work is academic freedom and open inquiry. We are proud to affirm our ongoing commitment to an education that is diverse, inclusive, equitable and anti-racist.  We recognize that diversity is a strength, and encourage our college community to examine issues related to: race, ethnicity, nationality, culture, gender, gender identity/expression, religion, sexual orientation, age, veteran status, and disability.

UMA applauds the endeavors of students, faculty and staff who engage in this work, including the development of programs and curricula. Through these and other undertakings, UMA actively promotes the lively exchange of ideas to improve our efforts and be responsive to the needs of our community. UMA will continue to lead by example, rising to the challenge of embracing change, acknowledging shortcomings, and prioritizing diversity, equity, and inclusion in pursuit of our mission.

The President’s Council on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion provides support and advocacy for these efforts.

Endorsed by Faculty Senate: 2/19/21
Endorsed by President’s Cabinet: 2/23/21


Related Links

Title IX –Equal Opportunity Resources »
University of Maine System Board of Trustees Policy Section 212: Free Speech, Academic Freedom, and Civility »
General Education Requirement – Cultural Diversity »

UMA is committed to ensuring a productive and inclusive environment for all members of our diverse community, which includes people of all abilities, races, ethnicities, genders, sexual orientations, nationalities, religious traditions, socioeconomic classes, and ages. The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Council will work to support strategic initiatives, partnerships, advocacy, innovation, and educational programs that will create, sustain, and enrich UMA’s institutional commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion of its entire community. They will also work to identify challenges, propose strategies, and make recommendations for new and ongoing policies that support DEI initiatives.

Putting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion into Action

The DEI Council will:

  • Promote a long-term and sustained culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion that is flexible, evolving, and open to continual improvement.
  • Establish institutional funding for ongoing education and training programs in DEI areas, to include regular professional development opportunities for all members of the community.
  • Recognize that inequalities and exclusions are the products of both structural policies and unconscious prejudice, and that DEI initiatives are not possible without both institutional support and healthy self-reflection and openness to learning from all members of our community.
  • Organize and promote workshops, activities, professional development, and research in DEI related areas and advocate that these opportunities be supported and rewarded through administrative and institutional support. These development activities should be provided by university professionals as well as initiated by student interests in order to better address structural blind spots and increase attention to diverse students’ actual needs.
  • Create a shared culture of DEI through deliberate and public expressions of DEI values. This means that we will seek to actively and positively create learning communities that are inclusive of sex, gender identity, race, ethnicity, religion, age, and income differences and actively understand and promote the benefits of DEI across our entire community.
  • Intentionally prioritize and support faculty efforts to integrate DEI research, tools, and perspectives into their curriculum and classroom practices.
  • Intentionally recruit and retain faculty, students, and staff that reflect multicultural and diverse backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives.

Susan Baker, Co-Chair
Professor of Science
sbak@maine.edu

Gregory Fahy, Co-Chair
Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
Gregory.fahy@maine.edu

Aaminah Aleem
Administrative Specialist, Office of Student Life
aaminah.aleem@maine.edu

Jessica Angelova
Student Representative
jessica.angelova@maine.edu

Lisa Botshon
Professor of English
botshon@maine.edu

Amanda Brown
Student Representative
amanda.d.brown@maine.edu

Patricia Clark
Lecturer of Mental Health and Human Services
pclark@maine.edu

Leslie Devine
Project Coordinator to End Gender-Based Violence
leslie.devine@maine.edu

David Leon
Student Representative
david.leon@maine.edu

Noel March
Lecturer of Justice Studies and Director of the Maine Community Policing Institute
noel.march@maine.edu

Jennifer Moody
Student Representative
jennifer.moody@maine.edu

Laura Rodas
Associate Dean of Students
laura.rodas@maine.edu

Terri Reiter
Director of the Center for Student Support and Development
terri.reiter@maine.edu

Lynett Roy
Staff Associate for Academic Advising
lynett.roy@maine.edu

Valerie Rubinsky
Assistant Professor of Communications
valerie.rubinksky@maine.edu

Joseph Spiller
Liaison to the Student General Assembly
joseph.spiller@maine.edu

Shelley Taylor
Student Services Coordinator, UMA Brunswick Center
shelley.taylor@maine.edu

Rebecca White
Assistant Professor of History
rebecca.white1@maine.edu