Home / News / UMA Awards Presidential Scholarships to Incoming Students

UMA Awards Presidential Scholarships to Incoming Students

posted in: UMA News | 0

Fourteen students who will begin their academic careers at the University of Maine at Augusta this Fall will receive Presidential Scholarships, demonstrating outstanding academic achievement in high school. To be eligible, students must be enrolled full-time in a UMA bachelor’s degree program. A limited number of scholarships is still available for qualified students who enroll by September 2018.

“I extend my congratulations to these students,” said UMA President Rebecca Wyke. “We are pleased to provide Maine students access to a college degree. This scholarship program removes a financial barrier for these students,” she continued, “and our eleven locations throughout the state allows students to take courses where they are, offering classes onsite, online, through video conference, Interactive Television, and at UMA Centers.”

The average in-state scholarship is $3,000 and covers 24 credit hours over a full academic year. The student must maintain a 2.5 GPA to continue receiving the scholarship. This year’s recipients are listed below.

Student Degree Program High School Attended
Tabitha Bell Vet Technology Old Town High School
Emily Buzzell Computer Information Systems Carrabec High School
Kara Chandler Art Messalonskee High School
Alexis Eldridge  Art Gardiner High School
Kayla Glidden  Liberal Studies Cony High School
Hunter Hoague  Pre-Dental Hygiene Erskine Academy
Duncan John Picher Computer Information Systems  Cony High School
McKenna Porter  Vet Technology Brewer High School
Kathryn Ross  Justice Studies Winthrop High School
Jordan Roux  Pre-Aviation Mt. View High School
Ciarrah Roy  Liberal Studies Lawrence High School
Melissa Sehic  Architecture Manchester Memorial High School
Mackenzie Small  Mental Health & Human Services Winslow High School
David Young  Pre-Aviation Maine Central Institute