Early College Awards Ceremony to Honor High School Seniors

Early College logo

The University of Maine at Augusta has invited 53 high school seniors for recognition at an Early College Awards Ceremony on Saturday, December 8, 2018 from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at The Senator Inn and Spa in Augusta. Selected students have completed nine or more Early College credits with UMA and maintained a 2.75 GPA or higher. UMA President Rebecca M. Wyke will address those in attendance and Associate Vice President for Admission Brandy Finck will present the awards.

The invited students represent 15 high schools across Maine and include three home schooled students. UMA’s Early College program allows Maine high school juniors and seniors to take college courses while in high school and earn college credit. The credit earned often can be applied toward a two-year associates or four-year baccalaureate degree. An example of courses taken by students include, College Writing, Elementary Statistics, Introduction to Psychology, Introduction to Literature, and US History I.

As part of the awards ceremony, each student will receive a UMA Early College Scholarship for the 2019-20 academic year. This scholarship allows the students to continue their studies at UMA after their high school graduation.

In additional to the students and their guests, the high school guidance counselor and principal from the represented high schools have been invited to celebrate this achievement.

The invited students attend the following high schools:

  • Bucksport High School
  • Camden Hills Regional HS
  • Dirigo High School
  • Edward Little High School
  • Ellsworth High School
  • Gardiner Area High School
  • Lewiston High School
  • Maranacook Community High School
  • Medomak Valley High School
  • Mount Blue High School
  • Narraguagus High School
  • Nokomis Regional High School
  • Oceanside High School
  • Skowhegan Area High School
  • Sumner Memorial High School