Maine Women’s Hall of Fame Opens Nominations for 2023 Honorees

Maine Women’s Hall of Fame Opens Nominations for 2023 Honorees

The Maine Women’s Hall of Fame has opened the nomination process for honorees to be inducted in the March 2023 ceremony. Since 1990, the organization has honored women who have made an outstanding contribution to improving opportunities for all Maine women.

The Maine Women’s Hall of Fame is seeking nominations from organizations, businesses, or individuals of women who meet the following criteria: their achievements have had a significant statewide impact, those achievements significantly improved the lives of women in Maine, and their contribution has an enduring value for women.

Complete nomination details, criteria, and requirements are available here.  The deadline for nominations is December 10, 2022.  An independent panel of judges reviews the nominations with careful consideration to select one or two honorees for induction each year.

Most recent recipients have included Darylen McQuirk Cote, Governor Janet T. Mills, Joanne D’Arcangelo, Betty-Jane Stanhope Meader, Joyce Taylor Gibson, Dean Leigh Saufley, and Jessica U. Meir.  For a complete list of honorees, visit Maine Women’s Hall of Fame.

The Maine Women’s Hall of Fame was established in 1990 by the BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation. The induction ceremony is usually held at the University of Maine at Augusta on the third Saturday of March, in observance of Women’s History Month. UMA maintains a permanent Maine Women’s Hall of Fame display of photographs and citations for all honorees in the Bennett D. Katz Library.

The BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation maintains an active scholarship program. Since 1962, when the first small scholarship was presented, it has been helping Maine women achieve economic self-sufficiency by awarding scholarships to outstanding and deserving women. Recipients of these scholarships have gone on to contribute to the economic well-being of their families and the State of Maine.