Home / News / UMA Service and Academic Awards Ceremony

UMA Service and Academic Awards Ceremony

Pierre Laot accepts an award from Prof. Tagle.

Earlier this month, a University of Maine at Augusta Service and Academic Awards Ceremony celebrated the achievements of UMA students.

Many awards and scholarships were presented during the ceremony at Jewett Auditorium including, the Outstanding Business Student Award presented to Kennedy A. Orr by Brenda McAleer, Associate Provost and Dean of the College of Professional Studies; Early Childhood Education Award, presented to Kayla Washburn by Patricia Clark, Mental Health and Human Services Lecturer; and Distinguished RN-BSN Student Award presented Dr. Lynne King, Professor of Nursing to Hilary Brooke Harkins.

Pierre Laot (pictured), received the Distinguished Cybersecurity Student Award and Outstanding Honors Program Student Award. Information and Library Science Coordinator and Assistant Professor presented the Distinguished Information and Library Science Student Award to Irene Bouchard Lee.

Sarah Nichols accepts an award from Prof. Corlew.Additionally, Sarah M. Nichols (pictured) received the Bennett D. Katz Scholarship and the Marcel Raymond Scholarship for the Study of French at UMA, and was recognized for being named a Newman Civic Fellow by the Maine Campus Compact.

The James H. Woodworth Memorial Award, established to honor James H. Woodworth, a “non-traditional student” was presented to two students this year, Larisa M. Batchelder and Fern Healy. Each in her own way and within the context of her total responsibilities achieved a great deal while maintaining a minimum 2.5 grade point average. Batchelder was also recognized as UMA Augusta Community Garden Student of the Year and for receiving the Heart and Soul Student Award from Maine Campus Compact.